SUNLU is one of the biggest names in budget filament, and its spools show up in almost every “cheap filament” thread. The lineup is confusing, though: PLA, PLA+, PLA+ 2.0, PLA Meta, High Speed PLA, High Speed PLA+ 2.0, Silk PLA+ and Silk PLA+ 2.0 all sit within a few dollars of each other. We compared SUNLU’s US store prices, its own spec tables and wiki, the SUNLU profiles built into Bambu Studio, and published reviews to sort out which ones are worth buying. We don’t test filament ourselves; every figure below is attributed to its source.
SUNLU filament by the numbers
- $10.58 to $13.59 per kilogram is what SUNLU’s US store charged for 1 kg rolls of PLA, PLA+, PLA+ 2.0, PLA Meta, Matte PLA and PETG on November 5, 2026, against a listed regular price of $18.99.
- ±0.02 mm is the diameter tolerance SUNLU specifies for its PLA family. Its TPU is listed at ±0.03 mm.
- 12 vs 22 mm³/s is the maximum volumetric speed Bambu Studio’s built-in profiles set for SUNLU PLA+ and PLA+ 2.0. At a 0.2 mm layer and 0.42 mm line, that works out to roughly 143 and 262 mm/s of sustained printing.
- 600 vs 250 mm/s: SUNLU’s High Speed PLA page promises “up to 600 mm/s” in its headline, while the spec table on the same page lists “210-230 °C / ≤250 mm/s”.
- Two million spools a month is the production capacity Tom’s Hardware attributed to SUNLU in March 2026. SUNLU’s CEO cited 160 production lines and 20,000 tons a year in a June 2025 letter.
- 0 recalls: we found no SUNLU filament or filament dryer recall in the U.S. CPSC recall database or Health Canada’s recall search on November 5, 2026.
SUNLU filament prices at a glance
Prices are per 1 kg roll for the “Ship to USA” variants on store.sunlu.com, checked November 5, 2026. Prices vary by color, and most colors sit at the top of each range. Temperatures are SUNLU’s own recommendations from its store listings.
| SUNLU line | US store price | Regular | SUNLU nozzle temp | Tolerance | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLA | $10.58-$12.99 | $18.99 | 200-210 °C (50-100 mm/s) | ±0.02 mm | Cheapest everyday PLA |
| PLA+ | $10.99-$13.49 | $18.99 | 195-205 °C (50-100 mm/s) | ±0.02 mm | Tougher everyday parts |
| PLA+ 2.0 | $10.99-$13.59 | $18.99 | 205-220 °C (100-300 mm/s) | ±0.02 mm | Default pick on fast printers |
| PLA Meta | $11.49-$13.49 | $18.99 | 185-195 °C (50-100 mm/s) | ±0.02 mm | Older and slower printers |
| Matte PLA | $10.99-$12.99 | $18.99 | 205-215 °C | ±0.02 mm | Display models |
| High Speed PLA | $11.29-$13.29 | $24.99 | 210-230 °C (≤250 mm/s per spec table) | Not stated | Fast printers, read the speed claim |
| High Speed PLA+ 2.0 | $13.19-$13.79 | $18.99 | 200-260 °C (50-600 mm/s claimed) | ±0.02 mm | High-flow hot ends only |
| Silk PLA+ | $13.49 | $29.99 | 205-215 °C (50-100 mm/s) | ±0.02 mm | Shiny decorative prints |
| Silk PLA+ 2.0 | $14.99 | $29.99 | Not listed on store page | Not stated | Brighter silk finish |
| PETG | $10.58-$12.49 | $18.99 | 230-240 °C (50-100 mm/s) | Not stated | Functional and outdoor parts |
| PETG 2.0 | $12.99 | $18.99 | Not listed on store page | Not stated | Matte PETG, less moisture pickup |
| ABS | $10.69-$11.99 | $19.99 | 250-260 °C, 80-100 °C bed | Not stated | Enclosed printers only |
| TPU 95A / 90A | $14.99 / $19.99 | $22.95 | 190-210 °C / 220-240 °C | ±0.03 mm | Flexible parts (95A was out of stock) |
SUNLU also sells refill coils for $10.49 (PLA, PETG, Matte PLA) and $10.99 (PLA+, PLA+ 2.0). SUNLU says they only fit its third-generation reusable spool and Bambu Lab’s reusable spool.
PLA vs PLA+ vs PLA+ 2.0 vs PLA Meta: what SUNLU’s own specs say
SUNLU’s four core PLAs cost almost the same, so the choice comes down to temperature and how fast you print. The strength figures below are SUNLU’s own published values from its performance specification sheet and product pages. SUNLU doesn’t name a test standard there, so don’t compare them directly with another brand’s numbers.
| PLA | PLA+ | PLA+ 2.0 | PLA Meta | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tensile strength (SUNLU) | 40±6 MPa | 46±5 MPa | 46±5 MPa | 50±5 MPa |
| Notched impact (SUNLU) | 5±3 kJ/m² | 10±3 kJ/m² | 10±3 kJ/m² | Not published |
| Nozzle temp, slower printing | 200-210 °C | 195-205 °C | 195-205 °C | 185-195 °C |
| Nozzle temp, faster printing | 210-240 °C (to 200 mm/s) | 205-220 °C (to 300 mm/s) | 205-220 °C (to 300 mm/s) | 195-225 °C (to 200 mm/s) |
| Bambu Studio max flow | No SUNLU profile | 12 mm³/s | 22 mm³/s | No SUNLU profile |
| US store price | $10.58-$12.99 | $10.99-$13.49 | $10.99-$13.59 | $11.49-$13.49 |
Two things stand out. First, SUNLU’s toughness claims don’t line up across its own pages. Its store listing calls PLA+ 2.0 “10 times stronger than PLA” and its wiki says PLA+ 2.0 has “2 to 3x” the toughness of PLA+, yet SUNLU’s own performance specification sheet lists PLA+ and PLA+ 2.0 with identical figures: 46±5 MPa tensile strength and 10±3 kJ/m² notched impact strength. Against SUNLU’s basic PLA (40±6 MPa, 5±3 kJ/m²), that is about 15% more tensile strength and double the impact strength, not ten times. Treat the “10 times stronger” line as marketing. Second, Bambu Studio’s built-in profile lets PLA+ 2.0 flow almost twice as fast as PLA+ (22 vs 12 mm³/s), which is the most useful practical difference between them on a fast printer.
The SUNLU filaments worth buying
1. SUNLU PLA+ 2.0: the default pick
SUNLU PLA+ 2.0
- SUNLU rates it for 100-300 mm/s at 205-220 °C, and Bambu Studio's SUNLU profile allows 22 mm³/s.
- ±0.02 mm diameter tolerance per SUNLU's wiki.
- Refill coil for SUNLU's third-gen spool or Bambu's reusable spool: $10.99.
- "10 times stronger than PLA" is a marketing line, not a published test result.
PLA+ 2.0 costs the same as SUNLU’s older PLA+ but is the one built for current fast printers. If you print on a Bambu Lab, Creality K-series or other CoreXY machine, it is the SUNLU PLA to buy first. On a slow bed-slinger the older PLA+ or PLA Meta will do the same job.
2. SUNLU PLA Meta: for older and slower printers
SUNLU PLA Meta
- SUNLU recommends 185-195 °C at 50-100 mm/s, lower than its standard PLA.
- 50±5 MPa tensile strength per SUNLU, the highest of its four core PLAs.
- Sold in pastel "Macaron" colors as well as basics.
- No built-in Bambu Studio profile, so you'll set it up as generic PLA.
PLA Meta is our budget pick in the best 3D printer filament guide. Its low print temperature suits older printers, stock hot ends that struggle above 210 °C, and anyone chasing fine detail at slower speeds.
3. SUNLU PETG and PETG 2.0: the value PETG
SUNLU PETG / PETG 2.0
- PETG: SUNLU recommends 230-240 °C at 50-100 mm/s; Bambu Studio's SUNLU PETG profile uses 245 °C and 12 mm³/s.
- PETG 2.0: matte finish and lower moisture absorption, rated at 5.196 kJ/m² notched impact by SUNLU.
- One reviewer found a batch that printed best at about 215 °C, far below the label (see below).
- PETG strings when damp; dry at 60-70 °C per SUNLU's wiki.
The original SUNLU PETG is the value pick in our best PETG filament guide, and at $10.58 for black on SUNLU’s store it undercuts most PETG we track. PETG 2.0 costs a little more and is the better buy if you want a matte surface or store spools in a humid room.
4. SUNLU Silk PLA+: for decorative prints
SUNLU Silk PLA+ / Silk PLA+ 2.0
- Silk PLA+: 205-215 °C at 50-100 mm/s, 50-60 °C bed, ±0.02 mm per SUNLU.
- Silk PLA+ 2.0 claims "60% enhanced silk shine" and "50% stronger layer bonding" (SUNLU's figures).
- Both list a $29.99 regular price, so the store discount is larger than on SUNLU's basic lines.
- Silk grades trade some strength for shine, so keep them for display pieces.
SUNLU Silk is the silk pick in our best PLA filament guide. All3DP covered the reformulated PETG 2.0 and Silk PLA+ 2.0 in August 2026 as both selling for under $15 a kilogram, which matches the store prices we saw.
The speed claims, checked against the math
SUNLU sells three “high speed” PLAs, and its claims vary by page:
- High Speed PLA: the sunlu.com product page headline says “Print Up to 600mm/s”, but its spec table lists “210-230 °C / ≤250 mm/s”. The store listing gives 230-260 °C for 300-600 mm/s.
- High Speed PLA+: SUNLU’s wiki rates it at up to 260 mm/s.
- High Speed PLA+ 2.0: SUNLU says 300-600 mm/s at 230-260 °C.
The limit is usually your hot end, not the filament. Printing a 0.2 mm layer with a 0.42 mm line at 600 mm/s pushes about 50 mm³ of plastic per second. Bambu Lab lists a maximum hot-end flow of 28 mm³/s for the A1 and 32 mm³/s for the P1S (see our A1 vs P1S comparison), and Bambu Studio’s own SUNLU PLA+ 2.0 profile caps flow at 22 mm³/s. Even SUNLU’s UK blog quotes a volumetric flow rate of 30 mm³/s for its high-speed PLA. At the same 0.2 mm × 0.42 mm line, 22 mm³/s works out to about 262 mm/s, 28 mm³/s to about 333 mm/s and 32 mm³/s to about 380 mm/s of sustained printing, whatever the label says. We found no independent measurement of SUNLU’s high-speed filaments. For printers that can actually use the extra flow, see our fastest 3D printer guide.
How SUNLU’s own store works
SUNLU’s store is cheaper than most of what we track, but it is set up for bulk buyers:
- Multi-roll orders. Several listings still carry “[MOQ: 6KG]” or “[MOQ: 3KG]” in their titles, and the store’s cart rules set minimum quantities on the core 1 kg lines. Plan on three or more rolls per order.
- Free shipping over $40. Four rolls of any core PLA or PETG clear the threshold at any color.
- Pick the “Ship to USA” option. Each listing has separate US, Europe, Canada and Australia variants with different prices and stock.
- Black Friday pricing is already live. The store banner advertised filament “from $8.99/kg” in its mix-and-match sale on November 5, 2026.
If you only want one roll, a 3D-printing retailer is the simpler option, usually at a higher per-kilogram price than SUNLU’s multi-roll pricing.
SUNLU vs other budget filament brands
Per-kilogram prices from each brand’s own US store, checked November 5, 2026 (Bambu Lab: October 29, 2026).
| Brand and line | How it's sold | Price per kg |
|---|---|---|
| SUNLU PLA / PLA+ / PLA+ 2.0 | Single rolls in multi-roll orders | $10.58-$13.59 |
| SUNLU refill coil (PLA) | Coil for a reusable spool | $10.49 |
| Elegoo PLA (RFID) | 5 × 1 kg bundle, $62.99 | $12.60 |
| Overture PLA | 4-pack, $52.99 | $13.25 |
| Elegoo PLA Plus | 5 × 1 kg bundle, $67.99 | $13.60 |
| Bambu Lab PLA Basic | Refill / with spool (list) | $14.99 / $17.99 (to $9.74 at 10+ refills) |
| Overture PLA+ | Single roll / refill | $16.99 / $12.99 |
| Polymaker Panchroma Basic PLA | Single roll | $17.99-$19.99 |
| Polymaker PolyLite PLA | Single roll | From $19.99 |
SUNLU is the cheapest of these per kilogram unless you buy ten or more Bambu PLA Basic refills at once. The gap is $1 to $3 a roll against bundles from Elegoo and Overture, and $5 to $9 against Polymaker’s single rolls. Our Bambu Lab filament guide has the full Bambu bulk-tier math.
Using SUNLU spools in a Bambu Lab AMS
SUNLU spools have no RFID tag, so the AMS won’t identify them automatically. Set the material and color for the slot once on the printer or in Bambu Studio, which has built-in profiles for SUNLU PLA+, PLA+ 2.0, PLA Matte, Silk PLA+, PETG, Marble PLA and Wood PLA. Three other details matter:
- Spool size. Bambu’s wiki says the AMS takes spools 50-68 mm wide and 197-202 mm in diameter. SUNLU lists its third-generation reusable spool at 200 mm across with a 55 mm hub and markets it as compatible with the AMS and AMS lite.
- Cardboard spools. Bambu “strongly” advises an adapter ring for cardboard spools to reduce slipping and debris. One owner on Bambu’s forum reported SUNLU spools working in the AMS until they ran low and recommended spool rings; another described SUNLU spools as slightly smaller in diameter than Bambu’s.
- Refills. SUNLU’s $10.49-$10.99 refill coils are made for its third-gen spool and Bambu’s reusable spool, so a Bambu owner can reuse spools from Bambu filament.
Our Bambu Lab AMS guide covers which AMS unit fits which printer.
What independent reviewers report
We found no independent lab test of SUNLU’s diameter consistency or of PLA+ 2.0, PLA Meta or the high-speed lines. The published reviews are smaller in scope, and some are sponsored:
- 3DPrintBeginner (updated September 2024) says it has printed “over 50KG of SUNLU” and that the ±0.02 mm tolerance claim holds “most of the time”, but one PETG batch printed best at about 215 °C instead of the labeled 225-235 °C. A separate 2023 roundup on the same site reports receiving “very inconsistent filament” from SUNLU twice.
- First Quadcopter (October 2023, sponsored by SUNLU) found PLA+ printed best at 210-215 °C, and that standard SUNLU PLA wouldn’t stick on one of its printers.
- CNC Kitchen (September 2026, a sponsored review of SUNLU’s FilaDC i10 drying cabinet) wrote that Stefan Hermann is “not a huge fan of cardboard spools” after a cardboard-spooled PLA lost more than 1% of its weight while drying, mostly water held in the cardboard.
- Tom’s Hardware (March 2026) reported that SUNLU is among the factories that make filament sold under other brands’ labels, which is one reason some budget spools behave alike.
The pattern is consistent: SUNLU’s basic filament is good value, but batches vary more than premium brands. If a new spool strings or under-extrudes, run a quick temperature tower before blaming the printer.
Drying and storage
SUNLU’s wiki recommends drying all its PLA grades at 50 °C, PETG at 60-70 °C and ABS at 80 °C. It doesn’t give a time per material; SUNLU’s FilaDryer S1 Plus page says common filaments “only need 3-6 hours”. Store opened PETG and TPU sealed with desiccant. Our filament dryer guide and filament storage guide cover the hardware.
Who should buy SUNLU filament
- Buy SUNLU if you print a lot of PLA or PETG, can order three or more rolls at a time, and want the lowest per-kilogram price from a major brand.
- Buy PLA+ 2.0 or PLA Meta, not the “high speed” lines, unless your printer’s hot end is rated well above 30 mm³/s.
- Buy a premium brand such as Polymaker or Prusament for dimensionally critical parts, where batch-to-batch consistency matters more than $5 a roll.
- Buy Bambu Lab filament if you want RFID auto-setup in the AMS or Bambu’s TPU for AMS.
Bottom line
SUNLU is the budget filament brand to beat on price: $10.58 to $13.59 per kilogram for its core PLA and PETG lines on its own US store, with free shipping over $40. PLA+ 2.0 is the best all-round choice, PLA Meta suits older and slower printers, and PETG is the value pick for functional parts. Ignore the “10 times stronger” and “600 mm/s” headlines, which SUNLU’s own spec tables and Bambu Studio’s profiles don’t support, and expect a little more batch variation than from premium brands.
Sources (checked November 5, 2026): store.sunlu.com product listings and cart settings; sunlu.com product pages, wiki and About page; Bambu Studio’s SUNLU filament profiles on GitHub; Bambu Lab wiki (AMS notes) and A1/P1S spec sheets; Tom’s Hardware (March 7, 2026); All3DP (August 20, 2026); CNC Kitchen (September 12, 2026, sponsored); 3DPrintBeginner (2023, 2024); First Quadcopter (2023, sponsored); U.S. CPSC recall data; Health Canada recalls; us.elegoo.com, overture3d.com and us.polymaker.com store listings; Bambu Lab US store (October 29, 2026).
Related guides
- Best 3D printer filament: SUNLU PLA Meta against the other top spools.
- Best PLA filament: where SUNLU Silk fits among PLA grades.
- Best PETG filament: SUNLU PETG as the value pick.
- Bambu Lab filament: Bambu’s own lineup, refills and bulk tiers.
- Bambu Lab AMS: which multi-color unit fits which printer.
- Best filament dryer: including SUNLU’s FilaDryer models.
- Best TPU filament: flexible spools by Shore hardness.